last update: 28. Feb 2009


Yes I (1968 - 1970)

* Jon Anderson - vocals

* Peter Banks - guitar

* Chris Squire - bass

* Tony Kaye - keyboards

* Bill Bruford - drums

more details see: Yes

Date Venue Title CD/ LP
 1969    In the Beginning CD
 27 October 1969  Actuel Festival, Amougies, Belgium  Actuel Festival Day 4 CD


In the Beginning

09. Oct 1969, Essen

Highland HL055#Y12;  Total time: 62:08

Quality: Tracks 1-6: very poor sound quality

  Tracks 7-9: Penthouse, Sheffield, UK 21 Dec 1969, sound is quite good


1)  Introduction

2)  No Opportunity Necessary No Experience Needed

3)  Dear Father

4)  Every Little Thing

5)  Something Coming

Oct 1969,

6)  Eleanor Rigby

21 Dec 1969, Penthouse, Sheffield, UK

7)  Dear Father

8)  Eleanor Rigby

9)  I See You



Actuel Festival Day 4

27 October 1969, Actuel Festival, Amougies, Belgium

Quality: very good audience recording


Yes fans are in for a treat - sonics aside, this is a really interesting listen. First, with the exception of "Then", they only play covers, including the rare "It's Love" from The Rascals which extensively features Chris Squire on vocals and bass (there is a version with Steve Howe on the recent live boxed set) - and, already at that point, has Anderson quoting the introductory theme to Stravinsky's "Rite Of Spring" (as he again did on "Yessongs"). The climax of the gig, I think, is the very extended "I See You" which has one of those long, wild guitar/drums duets between Banks and Bruford that Banks has referred to repeatedly but here's the first real chance of hearing what it really was like. Of course, Yes went on to make great music, arguably better and more accomplished, but there's a wildness and freedom to their early incarnation that was missing in their later, superstar days.

Lastly, the usual reminder about the sound quality - the tape recorder used was way below modern standards and the sound is nowhere near "professional" quality. This reservation aside, however, this is simply an unbelievable document of a legendary festival, and so our hearfelt thanks to the taper, JJB, for recording this at the time, and for allowing me to seed it here.


1. No Opportunity Necessary, No Experience Needed (Havens) (4:53)
2. tuning problems (4:43)
3. Then (Anderson) (5:32)
4. It's Love (Cavaliere/Brigati) (14:39)
5. Everydays (Stills) (5:43)
6. I See You (McGuinn/Crosby) (14:24)
7. Something's Coming (Bernstein/Sondheim) (10:19)

Jon Anderson - lead vocals
Peter Banks - guitar & backing vocals
Tony Kaye - organ
Chris Squire - bass & vocals
Bill Bruford - drums

8. unknown (2:08)
9. unknown (1:28)
10. Moonlight Man (6:04)

Sam Sampson - vocals & harmonica
Mick Smith - lead guitar
Andy Johnson - slide guitar
Bob Renny - bass
Dave Charles - drums
Frank Zappa - guitar (10)


    other Appearances

60s at the BEEP

Iron Butterfly: Live in Copenhagen